Golf 7 2013 discover pro retrofit with CARPLAY!
Username or Email Address
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up

    Welcome to VWvortex - The Volkswagen Enthusiast Website.
    You're currently browsing VWvortex site as a guest. Please sign up or sign in and take part in the conversation. VWvortex has over 750,000+ registered users discussing a wide variety of Volkswagen related topics. Take a minute to sign up to enjoy all the features of VWvortex.
    Page 1 of 14 1234511 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 25 of 336
    1. #1

      Golf 7 2013 discover pro retrofit with CARPLAY!

      Hi Guy,

      So after months of searching and waiting I finally have a Golf 7 (2013) with working discover pro incl. Carplay & android auto.

      I will build a tread on Retrofit Build MIB II with CarPlay.

      - prefase
      - parts + costs
      - tools + guide
      - coding
      - experience

      Not going to make this post at once but I'll start today (12-dec-2015).

      Prefase.
      Last spring I bouth myself a almost new Golf 7 from 2013, limestone grey, 1.4 DSG (140HP). It had (back then) the composite media in it, so a small screen and no navigation. From day one I wanted to upgrade my infotainment to one with navigation and I preferred the big screen (just nicer).

      So the search started, first on google and with the dealer. The dealer was clear, not possible, but on google there was a lot to discover. Problem with VW is, the old version RNS510 was stolen to many times and the retrofit was too easy, therefor VW taught we have to do something, so they start program the MIBI brain-unit (in the glove box) to the vehicle (VIN). This way a stolen unit won’t work in another car, smart thinking but this makes the legal retrofit difficult.

      After some searching I found APG, a company in Polen which claims to be able to program the brain-unit to the car and should be plug and play after programming. This gives opportunities but also some a bit suspicion, after having a lot of email conversation with them and some good feedback from someone who had some experience with them, I made up my mind… let’s do it☺.

      Contact APG: sales@apg.org.pl (Alex)

      But at this moment the news came out that VW is going to implement Carplay in there 2016 models, this would be a big advantage to the system and car. This brings new questions, software & hardware.

      If you buy a new golf right now you’ll get an MIB2 for sure but Carplay is only available if you bought the car-net option (afterward buying is (as far as I know) not possible.

      So back to AGP, contacted them in the summer if they already could deliver the MIB II preprogrammed to my car, yes this was possible but not cheap, BUT at least it could. Parts that I ordered;


      parts + costs

      Partnummer Description Supplier Cost in EUR
      3G0035021 MIB II (inc. LTE and DAB+) APG 1450 ex tax
      5G0919606 Display same as old one (Big one 8inch) APG
      5Q0035726E New USB Connector (needed for carplay) Partacus 25,64
      5G6035577B DAB+ ariel (hard to get) BM parts (dutch supplier) 35
      GPS Aerial GPS ariel Ebay 17
      DAB+ extent cable DAB+ extent cable Ebay
      5G1819743D Dasboard trim (needed if you got first a small screen) Ebay
      Tools
      Ejecter tool for brain (A) PC5-93 (2pcs) Ebay 1,40
      Ejecter tool for display (B) Volkswagen Double Din Stereo Radio Removal (4 pcs) Ebay 1,77
      Sharp knife, Stanley knife na na na



      Guide
      Remove the original brain unit with tool A.




      Disconnect connectors at the back of unit.




      Adjusting connector (pink) for video signal, just cut away a nock so it will fit. (if you’re not a noob you’ll see it)



      Take your new brain unit en connect all cables


      Add the GPS aerial, can be mounted behind the unit of somewhere else over there.


      Add the DAB+ extent cable (how this works can be added another time)




      Putting back the new unit until you hear 2 clicks without any forces.



      Now the second part of guide, replacing the display and USB.



      First pull at the bottom


      If the bottom is loose remove the second part (middel) of the dashboard, use some force but try to be firm, so short strong pulls.


      Gently move futher with the top frame, do not use a lot of force.


      Probably the air-units will come with them, that’s okay. There are 2 cable attached too the air units so don’t pull it completely out.


      Use a pointed pliers to disassemble the connector on the top.


      The second connector can be reached from beneath, first press the notch then pull the blue connector.


      Now you can remove the frame, if you’re replacing the frame, you have to transfer the air units. Check if all the metal clips are in the dashboard and not attached to the frame


      Now the display can be remove by using the 4 tools.


      Remove the display carefully because of 2 connectors attached to it. Remove the 2 connectors en adjust the white connector so it’s fits, same as at the brain side.






      Now the box for the USB unit, first pull out the mat.



      Than use a pliers in one of the holes, you will damage a bit the box but you wont see it because of the mat. Again, put firm and short, it’s locked by 2 clips at the front left and right.


      Once it loose, close the box and pull it a bit out.


      Now the USB+aux-unit can be remove from behind with 2 metal clips, very easy.


      Once loose, place the box a bit back and pull out the USB+aux-unit.


      Disconnect the 2 connectors, both are locked with clips.


      Disassemble the USB unit, just by 2 clips but it pretty tight, just use 2 knives or the tools for disassembly the display. (Because of the fact I already replaced it this image can be confusing)



      Place the new USB, easy click (can’t be placed wrong) and connect the connectors.


      Normally my suggestion would be to test everything before re-assemble everything again but in my case I know it will work so I started directly.

      Push back the box and you will hear 2 clicks. Now push in the USB also in place with 2 clicks and replace the mat.


      Now assemble the new display, just connect the 2 connectors (one adjusted so it fits) an click it in place, this goes almost without any force. (it falls in)


      The top frame can be placed back, first attach the blue connector from beneath and place the unit a bit back and connector the top connector with the pliers.



      Once the connectors are connected push back the frame (not the bottom part) and a few clicks will tell you it’s tight.


      Than place the middle part en push it in place together with the top frame, you’ll see why.


      Now all you have to do is coding the new USB (VCP or VCDS), I have VCP so;
      Connector you cable to the car and you computer and make connection. First put you’re MIB in diagnostic state, press and hold the menu button for 20 seconds.
      First you see

      Than you see this
      .

      Choose for "Green engineering menu"

      Than choose for option 1 or 2 and reboot the MIBII by pressing and holding the power button.



      This state of you entering the MIB II for coding

      Now connect VCP to 5F


      Choose you’re car (golf VII in my case) and connect.


      Go to coding


      Go to byte 19 and adjust it with 1111 0100 (binair) F4 (HEX) 244 (dec)


      Start coding and you lower bar will give an okay and MIB II will reboot.


      Now everything should work as you can see!



      Last edited by paul_elstak; 12-14-2015 at 07:18 AM.

    2. #2
      I don't have much desire for CarPlay but this is a great thread. Good job!

    3. #3
      Semi-n00b
      Join Date
      Mar 31st, 2015
      Location
      Northern Illinois
      Posts
      19
      and as a point of reference I do not believe you need a CarNet sub for carplay or android auto.....

    4. #4

      Golf 7 2013 discover pro retrofit with CARPLAY!

      Yes and no, if you want it to work originally from Volkswagen then yes, you'll need car-net.. 100%

      but in my case I don't have carnet option... And it works so the hardware is sufficient. (In theory)


      Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

    5. #5
      Member
      Join Date
      Apr 29th, 2009
      Location
      The Netherlands
      Posts
      331
      Goed werk!
      (Good job)

      Out of curiosity, what did the VCP coding do?

    6. #6
      Dank Je!

      Program the new usb..





      Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

    7. #7
      Member
      Join Date
      Apr 29th, 2009
      Location
      The Netherlands
      Posts
      331
      Quote Originally Posted by paul_elstak View Post
      Dank Je!

      Program the new usb..
      Ah, sounds logical.
      I would like to get in touch with these guys, curious about what they can do with the MIB1.

    8. #8
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Mar 5th, 2015
      Location
      NJ, USA
      Posts
      34
      Great writeup, thank you. Seems cost-prohibitive to me (close to $2,000 usd).

      However, I would love to switch out the MDI plug for the USB/3.5 one you used. Would it plug and play into my MK7 GTI, or is some coding required? More than anything, I would want the ability to charge from the USB. If the 3.5 jack worked too, that would be a nice bonus. It's available in the US from ECS: https://www.ecstuning.com/ES2955908/

    9. #9
      Member Blade3562's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 17th, 2012
      Location
      Garfield Heights, OH
      Posts
      3,190
      This is so awesome! Do you happen to have a part number for the massive E-Golf screen? If I go through with this retrofit I want the 8" screen!

      Nice work!
      Last edited by Blade3562; 12-13-2015 at 05:40 PM.

    10. #10
      any idea if this would work for the NA cars?
      15 gti 4dr se dsg LP Night blue
      P3 gauge, deautokey red footwell lights, escort redline w/EL hardwired
      when its warmer: deautokey reverse and licence plate lights

    11. #11
      Im ready to start buying stuff

    12. #12
      Banned nastybags's Avatar
      Join Date
      Nov 28th, 2005
      Location
      rhode island
      Posts
      21,199
      nice job

      Would love the 8" unit. The 5.8" is slow and even the new 6.5" is extremely buggy

    13. #13
      Quote Originally Posted by nonoMKVII View Post
      Great writeup, thank you. Seems cost-prohibitive to me (close to $2,000 usd).

      However, I would love to switch out the MDI plug for the USB/3.5 one you used. Would it plug and play into my MK7 GTI, or is some coding required? More than anything, I would want the ability to charge from the USB. If the 3.5 jack worked too, that would be a nice bonus. It's available in the US from ECS: https://www.ecstuning.com/ES2955908/

      How about this one;
      http://m.miniinthebox.com/nl/media-i...FQgFwwodppYImw


      Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

    14. #14
      Member
      Join Date
      Apr 29th, 2002
      Location
      Appleton WI
      Posts
      788
      Do you have their email address? I can't seem to find it on the website.

    15. #15
      Junior Member
      Join Date
      Mar 5th, 2015
      Location
      NJ, USA
      Posts
      34
      Quote Originally Posted by paul_elstak View Post
      How about this one;
      http://m.miniinthebox.com/nl/media-i...FQgFwwodppYImw


      Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
      That would be a lot simpler, assuming I can get it shipped to the U.S. Thanks again! Edit: Found it on Amazon

    16. #16
      Contact APG sales@apg.org.pl (Alex)


      Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

    17. #17
      Does CarPlay work wirelessly? iOS 9 enabled this on phones but wonder if the car-side hardware needs to support it too. Tia.

    18. #18
      Hi. Unfortunately not. I was hoping this as well.

      Perhaps in future! Would be a big improvement!


      Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

    19. #19
      Nice work!

      With your MIB I system - did that have MDI port or a USB? It looks like you did not have to modify that USB connector in anyway (shave keyway). Just replacing the MDI with a USB would be a great improvement.

    20. #20
      This is huge! I'm surprised there are not more people into this!

    21. #21
      Member 16plus4v's Avatar
      Join Date
      May 3rd, 2006
      Location
      Rossland, BC
      Posts
      6,626
      So glad we get the 8" Discover Pro here.. Will definitely be grabbing the tech package when I order my R
      '15 M235i Performance Edition w/LSD 6MT - His
      '15 GTI Autobahn 5dr - DSG Stage 2 - Hers

      iracing.com - The best simulation racing software, period.

    22. #22
      Member Blade3562's Avatar
      Join Date
      Aug 17th, 2012
      Location
      Garfield Heights, OH
      Posts
      3,190
      I'm going to be installing just the 8" screen into my existing setup. I don't need the Discover Pro system to stream videos from what I understand. And to have the screen enabled while in motion you have to change the vcds coding for the kick off speed. I think 200 is a good screen cutoff speed lol.

      Does anyone know if the silver trim from a golf is available rather than the cheap ugly black GTI trim? I may end up having to paint or do custom colors for the surrounds if it's not! (Maybe wood grain or body color)

      Also has there ever been a solid conclusion on which lightning connector enables video usage. I've read that green does on some cars while other people say red.

    23. #23
      Member
      Join Date
      Nov 14th, 2014
      Location
      Sandy Eggo, CA
      Posts
      395
      Hope somebody in US is brave enough to try this out

    24. #24
      Quote Originally Posted by Blade3562 View Post
      I'm going to be installing just the 8" screen into my existing setup. I don't need the Discover Pro system to stream videos from what I understand. And to have the screen enabled while in motion you have to change the vcds coding for the kick off speed. I think 200 is a good screen cutoff speed lol..
      Hi I'm not sure what you currently have, but just plugging in a big screen won't work.


      Is what you get when you plug in a composite media in a 8" screen. It works completely but not really nice



      Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

    25. #25
      Today I've tried a friends Android to test Android auto; see results;





      It works also

      I think CarPlay is more mature but android auto has his advantages...


      Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk

    Page 1 of 14 1234511 ... LastLast